Millie & Suzy

Follow our walking adventures around the Cotswolds & beyond

DIY Beer can camping stove

Leave a comment

First attempt at making a beer can camping stove

This is my first attempt at making the DIY ‘Beer can camping stove’ Unfortunately, I’m not that clever and the credit for this goes to Alastair Humphreys’ video: Click here for instructions I used a Pepsi can instead of a beer can and it was pretty straight forward to make. The most difficult thing was cutting the top off the can. It looked really easy in the video, but I was worried about slipping and cutting my hand.

tin opener

Army style tin opener

Someone did suggest using a tin opener instead of a knife, but I didn’t have one of these to hand. I also wonder if the ridges have to be reasonably precise. I wasn’t sure if I was making the ridges in the can too deep, or not deep enough. Anyway, now that I’ve made my stove, I will need some surgical spirit/ alcohol to test it out, and ideally a volunteer to light the thing while I stand well back 🙂 If it works well it will be a very useful piece of information to remember. Apart from being cheap, and recycled, it is also so lightweight that it could be a great option for backpacking or micro adventures. One thing is for sure, if I made it and it works, then this really is something that anyone can do. For the results watch this space! …

Update: I could only find surgical spirit with castor oil added. I wasn’t too sure what that would burn like, so in the end I opted for Bio-ethanol fuel from Cotswold Outdoor. Perhaps the ridges in the can weren’t deep enough. I couldn’t get it to stay lit! Putting the mug on top of the stove just extinguished the flame. I will make the ridges a bit deeper and try again…

Result: I admit defeat with this one! Even with a bit of head scratching and tinkering I couldn’t get it to light outdoors at all, and indoors wasn’t much better. Any clues as to where I may have gone wrong?

Author: Millie

I practice the art of original Japanese Reiki, aspiring to take a more heart centred approach to life. I'm passionate about wellbeing, spirituality and the great outdoors

Leave a Reply

